Close
Login to Your Account
Snowmobile Fanatics - Snowmobile Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Snap-on Vs. Matco ?

This is a discussion on Snap-on Vs. Matco ? within the Off Topic forums, part of the General Discussion category; Well i am in my last year of automotive technology(for my associates) and i am planning on becoming a full time mechanic(either deisel or gas). ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Snap-on Vs. Matco ?

Vdub & 907 For life
    This user has no status.

Member #
    Well i am in my last year of automotive technology(for my associates) and i am planning on becoming a full time mechanic(either deisel or gas). Snap-on, Matco offer student discount( 30% off or better),and at the moment I have no idea which company i want to go with. So which one do you guys think is overall better? I want to know all the Pro's and Con's you guys have experienced with snap-on or matcos tools..(

This user has no status.

Member #
    Things may be much different now, but back in the 80's I asked the same questions, snap-on, mac or matco?

Tool quality and warranty were good with all. Then Matco was a little less expensive. I chose primarily Matco while living in Florida. Then I moved to NW Ohio and there was not a Matco dealer that visited the shop. This made for some serious frustration when dealing with warranty, mailing the tool(s) in (at my expense) for replacement. Sometimes it took weeks. I had Matco boxes and loved them.

I don't know how much different the industry is now, I have been out of that trade for more than 20 years.

This user has no status.

Member #
    Chances are both of them will come to your shop, I would wait and see what guy you like better and compare pricing and the tool themselves to each other on every major purchase.

For air tools the ingersol rand will blow snap on out of the water at half the cost. Did back to back runs on that learning experience.