1992 Indy 500 SP EFI fueling issue?
Close
Login to Your Account
Snowmobile Fanatics - Snowmobile Forum - Powered by vBulletin

This is a discussion on 1992 Indy 500 SP EFI fueling issue? within the Polaris forums, part of the Brand Specific Snowmobile Discussion category; Hello , I am new to the forum although I have been gathering great information from here as I work on this sled. I am ...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: 1992 Indy 500 SP EFI fueling issue?

This user has no status.

Member #

Hello , I am new to the forum although I have been gathering great information from here as I work on this sled. I am also new to snowmobiling. I have never owned one and haven't even been on one for 25 years.

This sled sat for at least 6 years without moving. Mice got into the throttle bodies and wreaked havoc. The mouse piss locked the throttle bodies shut and pitted the butterflies and the air horns have mild pitting. After hours of cleaning and lubricating, they finally operate smoothly and snap shut fully again. TB butterflies had to be removed for cleaning. They were green from the mouse piss. Recoil rope snapped first day. The primary is noisy with worn weights and rollers, but will get addressed if I can get it running correctly. It is currently removed. I refuse to spend a dime on anything unrelated to motor function at this point.

Currently, it starts and idles nice and is very crisp and responsive to about 3000-3500 RPM's Once there, it bogs and the RPM's surge. It took forever just to get it to this point, since I didn't know the fuel line had fallen off in the tank and fuel level is below the output fitting.

Here's what I know so far:
    120ish PSI on both cylinders.
    New BR8ES plugs.
    Fuel pressure is right on the money, but fluctuates with sled running. Will build quickly to 60 with return/overflow line pinched. However, it bleeds down very quickly after each fuel pump cycle.