'99 ZL 600 EFI Backfiring and bogging out.
Close
Login to Your Account
Snowmobile Fanatics - Snowmobile Forum - Powered by vBulletin

This is a discussion on '99 ZL 600 EFI Backfiring and bogging out. within the Arctic Cat forums, part of the Brand Specific Snowmobile Discussion category; Hi. My '99 ZL 600 EFI gave me some real problems the other day, and I'm hoping you guys can help me figure this out. ...

"); }
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: '99 ZL 600 EFI Backfiring and bogging out.

This user has no status.

Member #

Hi. My '99 ZL 600 EFI gave me some real problems the other day, and I'm hoping you guys can help me figure this out.

First of all, I am a mechanic by trade. Nothing specific. I work in the shop at a construction/demolition company, so I work on all sorts of equipment. Very basic shop though, not real high tech. So....I am not a complete "tool" when it comes to stuff like this, just not a whole lot of snowmobile wrenching going on, you know.

So, anyway, my sled sat for 3 years with a blown motor. I finally decided to do something about it. I replaced both cylinders and pistons. Along with the head. I also replaced the throttle body to reed cage flanges. I went thru all the wiring. Cleaned and inspected all connections, length of wire, and grounding points. I install new plugs, plug wires, and coil.

I went to fire it up, and no spark. After going to another Arctic Cat forum site, we decided to take some ohm reading on my stator. According to the results, the stator was bad. I sent it off and had it rewound. I put the stator in and got good spark. My sled ran great! In fact, I don't recall it running this good before. For an old 600, it was a rocket! That day, I rode for about 3 hours without a hitch. I was extremely pleased.