Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im planning on pulling the motor on my skidoo to clean up the snowmobile and replace some parts i was wondering if there was any thing i should replace while it is all in peices or things to look for that might have broke or worn over the years. also if you have any tips on pulling the motor and replacing bearing and things that would be great to. im new to the snowmobile thing ive only done dirtbike motors so any help would be great

·
Registered
32 Posts
I would check the motor mounts, make sure there not cracked or worn and replace the actual rubber mounts. Have the clutches rebuilt, check your jackshaft and driveshaft bearings and chain and gears. Look for worn hoses, wires and leaks. This would be a good start as far as under the hood.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok most of those parts i was planing on changing... i was also thinking of putting a indy 600 motor into it but im not sure if that will work or if its worth it. the 500 doesnt have a hole lot of muscle compaired to some of my buddies skidoos. i do alot of lake riding so i need some speed. if theres anything that could help the 500 pull a lil harder that would be great

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
its a 600 triple but there was also a 650 the frames and mounts loook the same from both the 500 and 600 so i think the only thing that will need to be changed are the carbs fuel pump airbox wiring and a few other thingss

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
its a 600 triple but there was also a 650 the frames and mounts loook the same from both the 500 and 600 so i think the only thing that will need to be changed are the carbs fuel pump airbox wiring and a few other thingss

·
Registered
32 Posts