Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there.

I just bought a 1999 Yamaha Sx 500 Vmax for 1500 dollars this fall, hoping for a good all around sled with enough power to keep up with big dogs. I liked its rear suspension desgin, and its front, since it has some hefty parts. I also like how Clean and nice it was kept, and its racey look. But, a friend of mine commented on how i need a real sled to have any fun, and I am Quite sure I have bought a real sled, since so far until then, I have only heard good things about that model. He tells me that the stock suspension settings will make me push through corners instead of pull through, because my skis dont have much weight on the ground. then he started commenting on my motor. I am Quite sure it is a reed valve 500 liquid with flat slides. and in my mind those add up to some good clean pure power. all I want to know is if im totally mistaken or not, since I have little experience with these models.

[galleryattach=13133]

-thanks guys

·
Registered
6,184 Posts
Youll easily keep up in trails. You can setup your own suspension to make it perform the way you want it to. Your friend has no idea what hes talking about. Nice sled and great price.

·
Registered
841 Posts
I agree with the above. Nice sled and it will be a great ride.
The Yami's do have lots of adjustments on the suspension. There are so many combos, that you can fine tune to your liking.
If you need help learning about all the settings, check out the tech section on http://www.totallyamaha.com/

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I fired up my SX today and rode it. It ran really good then got a little boggy at times, since the gas is from last year. thats what I meant By that

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #11