Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hoping someone here might know what the problem is with the my fan cooled Pro X.I'm having a hell of a time getting this thing dialed in and running right.Some of you "fanatics" that have been around here awhile may remember all the problems I had with this machine last year.I've come to find out that it's not just my sled, but many of the 2002 Pro X fans.I talked to my dealer today and they said they have two of them that customers brought back because they don't run once warmed up.(I've already been there and got that straightened out)[xx(]Well at least mine runs.I've dropped three jet sizes and backed out the pilot screws 1+1/4 turns and the machine still wants to load up on the bottom end.There is also a dead spot right at 5200 rpm.I'm no master mechanic sled tuning guru, but I suspect that this model sled may have some serious tunability issues.
Is there anyone here that works for Polaris that might know whats going on here?I would like to contact the company to see if they have any service bulletins out for this machine, but I can't seem to find a way to contact them.It seems to me that Polaris should step up and take action if they have a batch of bad sleds out there that people like my put there hard earned money down to buy.
If anyone has any advice on what I should do, I'm all ears.The sled runs, it has 690 miles on it, but it really sucks to have to worry about it-especially now that my girlfreind is the primary pilot.PLEASE, any helpful advice would be, well..., helpful.[;)]

·
Registered
287 Posts
Well, I'll do that best I can with what I know...

The dead spot at 5200 rpm, does it seem like too much gas or not enough? If too much, lower your carb needles (raise the c-clip) one notch to see if that helps. If not enough gas, raise the carb needles (drop the c-clip) one notch. That should take care of the midrange for you.