Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so today i was talking to some guy about a factory 440 race sled and we got talking about trail conversions, he was trying to tell me that a lc dome was to convert a 93 octain sled to a 91 or 87 octaine sled because they dont make anything production that runs higher then 93 octain. and i tried telling him that a factory race sled comes with 110 octaine heads and oyu need to put trail (lc) domes on it to run 93 am i wrong? he says his 04 mxz800 blair morgan edition is a factory race sled and he has done nothing to it and he runs pump gas, i just wanna get your guys think, i think i'm right but i'm no expert but i've done alot of research seeing how i want to buy a 440 racer.

·
Registered
15,722 Posts
trail conversions were to get the 110+oct 440's down to pump gas(93 oct)

·
Registered
511 Posts
As mentioned, stock race sleds (at least 440's; I think Doo's 600RS run on pump from the factory) run on 110 octane, and trail converting them allows them to run on low 90's octane (although they do lose a bit of power).

The Blair Morgan REV's were not factory race sleds. I think there may have been a few race parts, or similar parts (not really sure), on it, but they used consumer motors, which have always run on pump gas.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok thanks guys... i love going to a mechanics school were everyone knows everything HAHAHA

·
Registered
4,299 Posts
B.M. edition skidoo's were a sticker package, just trail sleds with fancy graphics and a little different valving schedule for the shocks.

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
The BM sled was a replica sled with the trail motor and the mxzx shock valving.

The race sleds until 08 were 110 octane sleds that when trail converted with low comp heads can safely run pump gas.

·
Registered
584 Posts