Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so my sled wont start or run. i had it running and while i was going i would feel a clunk from the track when i would give it full throttle, but if i gave it half throttle it wouldnt do that. decided to go home on the way home it died and will not start. i did notice that i went threw a full tank of gas. in less then 2 hrs. when trying to start it will almost start then before i give it gas it will die. Then after about 15 mins. of pulling it gets harder to pull. I have good compression and it is sparking on all three cylinders. how do i check the crank case seals. i heard these go bad often on these sleds? i am an auto mechanic and i am new to sleds please help me. thank you all for reading this and thank you for replying.

·
Registered
378 Posts
Ok what you need to do is put the sled in a heated garage or have a heat gun to heat the block up. There is going to be bolts in the front of the crankcase take those out to see if there is any fluid that comes out. That will see if there is any issues with water or fuel that is leaking in to the crankcase. Then get it running and have a can of carb spray. When running spray around the base of the cylinders and the crankcase. Then spray behind the clutch where most of the issues are with seals. If there is nothing that you find you might have bad rings or bad crank bearings. Hope that you find the issue. If there is anymore info to give after you do that tell us and we can try and help you out. Hope for the best. If there is water in the crank get a can of fogger and fog the motor. That will help to try and save the crank bearings.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·