Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What kind of mods and upgrades are there out there for a sled like this? Anything I can do to pull some more horsepower out of the engine, or clutch it differently to make it faster? I want to be able to keep up with my dads AC ZRT 600. Not necessarily beat it (which I feel isn't possible) I just want to be able to keep up. Oe thing I would really like to do is adapt a more modern, longer travel suspension. Is there any way I can adapt a modern suspension to the sled with some fabrication and such? Or is that an entirely bogus idea? You can tell I'm new with snowmobiles and such, but the tinkering thing isn't. I learn really quick.

BTW, 'nother quick question. I'm looking at the HJC CX-X2 helmet, is this a good helmet? I know it's a motox helmet, not a snowmobile helmet, but I don't like the visor and full face design, it restricts my vision more than I'm comfortable with. I'm prepared to get a good balaclava to keep the wind off, and I've already got some goggles that I can use for now.

·
Registered
2,573 Posts
Hmm...what I wouldn't have given back in the day to have an Exciter 570!! ANYWAY, I wouldn't say the Exciter is down for the count, but it does have age against it. I'd say, certainly look at a pipe, and studs for the track. Don't forget new skags...carbides, to keep you going where you want to go. Beyond that, depending on the ol' pocket-book, you could investigate porting and changing the gearing. Just remember about gearing, what you give to your sled at the bottom, you take from the top. There are other alternatives (milled heads, bored carbs, NOx) but that is probably going too far, considering you'd have to run high-octane (110+) gas for that. Either way, just enjoy. When I was your age I had an '87 Yamaha Inviter 293!!!

·
Registered
660 Posts