Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here--[:(]Long story---Bought a 93 Polaris Indy 500 EFI and it needed a new battery. Put new battery in and it read 13.7. Started right up, but died about 20 minutes later. Wouldnt start. Let it sit for about 15 minutes and it started. It's been in a storage unit for 2 years so I goosed it and ran it for about 35 minutes and all was good. Came out the next day and it wouldnt start. Battery reads 12.5 charged it about 20 minutes and it started right up. Checked the battery while running and it read over 14 so assume its charging. 9 times out of 10 when you turn the key you can hear the pump prime. the one time its doesnt, it wont start. Anyone have this issue before? 12.5 should be strong enough to run the EFI right?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Come on guys--I need help. What would keep power from getting to my fuel pump? Sometimes, I can pull the starter over and the fuel pump will kick on. Starts great then, but if I dont hear the pump, wont start. Is one of the sensors bad and if so which one?

·
Registered
2,626 Posts
Yes 12.5 volts will run the efi. Next to where the harness plugs into the efi control box there is a red led light, is it blinking anything? Will blink a 2 digit code. First digit will be a long flash 2nd digit will be a fast blink. Check and see if it's blinking a code and come back. If it's not blinking a code I'd replace the fuel pump.

·
Registered
384 Posts
Check your ground cable where it attaches to the engine. We had a problem with the early ones where the crimped connector was loose on the cable. Sometimes we had ground and sometimes we didn't.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5