Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a '93 indy 600 xlt. This has a triple. I am new to sledding, and was curious if I made a good choice. I'm not concerned with speed, but more on reliability. This unit has 7000 miles on it, and is all original.

I have heard concerns about tripples possibly being less reliable. I was looking for an indy 400, but this was a good deal.

The engine looks good, and stared on the first pull (always a good sign), and seemed to have smooth acceleration (and loads of power).

Comments?

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
I have the same sled w/ 6000 miles and has been a good sled,I am now putting new pistons and rings in it.I call my xlt old faithful!!

·
Registered
3,729 Posts
If your '93 XLT has the original motor, it is a 580, not a 600. The 580 was is an excellent motor. My dad bought one new in '93. He sold it in the late '90s with approx 8000 miles on it. The person he sold it to still has it. I do not believe he has ever had to do anything to the engine.

·
Registered
814 Posts
My wife has a 94 XLT with about 6600 miles. I've never had to do anything to this sled other than normal wear items- belts, hyfax, plugs, wear-rods, etc. It's been very trouble-free. I would say as far as reliability, the 93 and 94 XLT's with the 580 engine are right up there with the venerable Indy 500. Quick little trail sled too!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, it's a 580. The full description is 1993 POLARIS XLT SKS. I'm not too sure what the letters mean. The machine is all original, and looks good.

What are some normal maintenance items to look at when getting an older sled?

I've noticed the brake seems weak, is this normal, or maybe I just need to add more fluid, and possibly blead the line.

·
Registered
814 Posts
XLT- Extra Lite Triple
SKS- Snow King Special