Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to snowmobiling (well not since 1978 and a Kawasaki 440 Invader) and just bought this sled. It is in excellent condition with just a little over 900 miles, been stored for awhile. Can anyone tell me a little about these xlt's, what kind of sled is it, horsepower etc? Good points and bad points, what to look out for. Also where can I get a service manual for it. Waiting for snow....Thanks.

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
97 was a good year for the xlt, not much to watch for.

·
Registered
1,518 Posts
We have the same sled. Clean the carbs change the gas if still in there from last year , grease everything and it should be ready to go. It is a nice sledand has around 80 or 90 horse. Ours has around 5000 miles on it and its still running strong. Have fun this winter and welcome to the site

·
Registered
227 Posts
I have the same sled as you. Can't tell you much about it since I have only got to put about 200 miles on it since I picked it up about three years ago. (Iowa winters bite). Anyway, I've been happy with it the little bit I have ridden it. You can get a manual from a dealer #9913263. It covers sleds from 96-98. Be prepared though, I spent $100.00 smackers for mine. I tried e-bay and a few other places but never could find a used one. Welcome to the sight and if you want any info about the sled before you get a manual just pm me or put out a post and someone on this awesome site will get you the answers you need.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for all the reponses. I'm looking forward to getting back into snowmobiling just waiting for some snow. Seems like this has been a fantastic winter so far minus snow but would like to try out the sled. Anxious to see how it rides and handles. Geeze man it's been almost 30 years since I wrenched on these things.

·
Registered
5,686 Posts
Originally posted by minnesotaderek