Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why would a 97 Artic Cat Puma 340 burn up a belt every hour or so? I have 4 of these - all were in storage last year (no snow) but now 3 of them are using belts to the tune of $200 per day!!

Clutches appear fine - mileage is below 1000mi on each - run fine, but belts are all fraying, throwing chunks of rubber out of the inner circumference - clutches appear to be free and no corrosion/wear visible....

With new OEM belts, the sleds run smooth for a few miles, then I hear/feel a thumping as clutch engages at rpm, until the drive sounds like it's got a bent drive shaft....by then the belts are frayed and throwing rubber....on 3 of the 4 sleds!!

Any ideas before I tear into the clutches and see why they'd ALL be doing this? This is my first year working with sleds and this fleet....previous maintainer said he'd never changed a belt in the 5 years he'd run them....any thoughts on what would typically be wrong for a sled to throw a belt that quick?

I've got tons of ATV/bike expereince, but none on sleds...but have the tools and shop to settle this issue this weekend.

Thx

Steve

·
Registered
608 Posts
I have seen belts that get oil sprayed on them do that. Check your alignment of your clutches. Try cleaning the clutch surfaces and look for oil residue. You should get several thousand miles out of a belt.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Just checked one sled's driven clutch - a little rough in action, but cleaned up nice, now seems smooth action. No oil around the area at all.....do I need an alignment tool, or will any straightedge do?

Thx

·
Registered
246 Posts