Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, Im new to sleds. My fam just bought a cottage in northern MI and want to pick up 2 sleds. They would spend all their time either on a lake or groomed trails I would think, no mountain riding. Figure a $10g budget a piece...what would you get? NEW sleds.

Im liking the Yamaha Apex.

PS I cant stand being slower than anybody else, well at least faster than 90% of the crowd.

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
well 10g's is a little much but w/e. have you ever sled before? any specific brands?

for speed: arctic cat f-7, 2000-2003 xcr 800, 98-2002 srx 700, 2000+ mach z, and the 98 tcat 1000 (fastest stock sled ever) all in the 118-125 mph range

speed and awesome suspension, apex rtx or er or gt, ski-doo renegade 800, or even the f1000. all very nice sleds.

trail ridability and ok speed, polaris classic 700 with m-10, ski-doo mxz 600ho-700.

you choose but you have to get on them all and test ride themm all and see how you like the feel and how they ride. they all ride and feel different.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a few times out west in yellowstone, first two years were on pretty gay sleds, sub 500cc, last year was a Polaris RMK 700 I think, to me that sled ripped pretty good, but since then I have built a CBR600RR powered quad so my scale of quickness has been raised a bit.

So the yamahas are pretty good then, I know theyre the newest to the game? I have only ever owned 4-strokes, and love them, but thats not to say I couldnt love a 2stroke.

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
well i say you go and buy a 02-03 xcr 800 159.2 hp stock, clutch it, pipe it (htg), then do some head work and you have a 125 mph sled easy with 180-190 hp.

i just bought a 02 from my cousins and the things has yet to be riden but i get it back soon. i am getting the heads milled and then clutched and geared 1 tooth down on lower gear. i am sticking with stock pipes for now.

·