Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i have an idea for moving air into sled engines that i'm thinking about trying on my sled. i haven't been playing with sled engines for very long, but i have lots of experience with tuning impot cars. so thats where i'm coming from on this idea. i want to make a cold air intake for my sled, similar to what you would find in an import car. i'm thinking of getting rid of the factory airbox, and putting in a pipe on each carb that points up and sucks air from the same location as the factory airbox through 2 high-flow air filters. the pipes would be much lighter than the airbox, would free up more room under the hood, provide unrestricted airflow, and act as a resonator that would make for a sweet engine note coming from under that hood. not to mention it would provide a horse power gain.
so does this sound like a decent idea? i havn't seen anything like this on a sled, but like i said, i haven't been around sleds for all that long yet.

ps. if this idea hasn't been done yet, and someone takes this plan, starts mass producing intakes, and makes a bunch of money off my idea, you can expect a call from my lawyer. hahahah.

dave m

93 mxz chassis w/97 440cc LC.
old tunda w/377cc

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·