Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

Where is your favorite area to ride in Lower Michigan? I'm planning a first annual trip with my Dad and Father in-law and we've never been on any part of the groomed trail system. I'm looking specifically at the Northwest & Southwest quadrant of Michigan on fishweb.com but I have no real experience to go on other than what I read online.

I'm in the Cleveland area and would like to find a place within 6 hours max and from what I can see that puts me in the area of Houghton Lake or Cadillac. I'm open to anywhere but from what I read the further north is best because they get more lake effect...

Anybody have any recommendations of where to go and or where to stay? It'd be awesome to find a place that we could stay at and ride from our door to the trails.

Thank you for your help!
Todd

·
Registered
776 Posts
Hello fellow Clevelander!

If you want to go up a group of us is planning on going up this weekend Jan 15-17ish. (That all hinges on the snow conditions) You'd be more than welcome to join up with us. I have been up there several times. Grayling/Gaylord seem to be about the most popular places to stay because you can go off in just about every direction. I have rode almost all over northern half of the LP. Cadillac is also a nice area as well. Just check with the trail conditions and head for the area with the most snow. That's pretty much how we plan it out.

What area of Cleveland are you from? I'm out east and we actually have a decent little trail system out here. Your welcome to come ride sometime just get in touch.

·
Registered
250 Posts
www.lostpinelodge.com
Stay there a few times a year and cant give one complaint to you, always have a blast. Ride from your door to the trails literally. Trail access to anywhere you would need to go. Def worth checkin out IMO...

·
Registered
250 Posts
http://www.trailreport.com/ [thumb]