Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all

I have an '87 Tundra and I just replaced the chaincasing and adjusted the track.

My problem is that it feels like it really shakes when I try to open it up and I don't feel that this is normal (mind you, I am new to snow machines).

Could it be that my driven pully support is set incorrectly and my drive is not running true? Should I be checking for a loose engine mount bolt? Any help is greatly appreciated as I am learning as I go along.

Thanks all

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
Is there a chance that a bearing in the chain case came out for what ever reason. With more info we can help better. How did it run before? why did you replace the chain case. Was the drive shaft removed?

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Hotrod

The bearing in the chaincase shouldn't be able to come out once it is all bolted down as I can't see how there is lateral room for it to slide that far sideways ... should I take of the chaincase cover to check that out?

I am not sure how it ran before as the previous owner had it taken apart as the chaincasing was cracked.

I examined it and think that he didn't have his driven pulley support bolted to the frame, thus allowing the drive to get pulled sideways and putting enough stress on the chaincasing to crack it.

The drive shaft (you mean drive axle, right?) had to come off so that the old chaincasing could come off. NOTE: THE DRIVE AXLE BEARING WOULDN'T SEAT FULLY INTO THE SMALLER DIAMETER BORE OF THE CHAINCASING ... I TALKED TO A GUY LOCALLY AND HE SAID THAT THEY DON'T FULLY SEAT.

Thanks for your help. If there is any more info required, just ask and I will provide what is needed.

Thanks again

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·