Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My neighbors has been running his sled on and off a little in the summer but just letting it idle. When he went to start it today it started fine ran for a bit and than he turned it off. When he went to restart it, it would not start. He ended up flooding the engine so the spark plugs were shot. I went down and put new spark plugs in it gaped em and all that happy jazz. It started right up but had not power, it ran but just sluggish. Kind of sounds like the carbs are just full of "stuff". He called a dealer and the dealer said the same thing, and is gonna charge him like $300 to look at it and clean the carbs. When i asked if it could be cheaper to just put in carb cleaner and let the engine run for a while to clean everything out the dealre said it would cause more damage and to just bring it in. I would offer to clean the carbs myself, but i am not a mechanic. I would do it on my own sled but not my neighbors. So i guess my question is does it sound like a carb problem and is the dealer just feeind him bull about the carb cleaner to make some doe?

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Sounds like a carb problem to me. Depending on the temp where you are, If it was warmer than usually riding conditions, its going to be slugish as most sleds are jetted for -20 factory. If it was warm it could have been a combination of fouled plugs, a plugged up main jets that caused it too leaner and run good and then completely plugged, or plugged up pilots will make it not want to idle, and pilots plug up easy. I would search around and find a post about cleaning them, its really not hard at all and should be done yearly as preseason maintenance.