Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,356 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i have this 94 xlt chassis with a indy 88 650 motor in it with pipes and i need to have my carburators syncronized.

for the cost of having it done i know i could buy the tool to do it but i have never done it before and would need some advice and help on how to do it from some of you guys who have done it before.

1. is it worth me getting a tool and doing it myself.
2. what is the best tool out there or whats a good one to use.
3. how do you hook it up and what do you exactly adjust.
4. how do i know after i do it that it worked.

i havea few other questions but i will ask later.
thanks in advance for any information.

·
Registered
4,541 Posts
dont buy the tool it works like crap anyway, use your fingers.

·
Registered
1,356 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how do you use your fingers. i seen one in Dennis kirk for$94 its a motion pro and it looks like a thermomiter and you can do all the carbs at the same time to make sure they are all the same. not sure how it works. like i said i have never done it before.

·
Registered
3,208 Posts
I have always had wonderful luck with the uni sync tool. Cheap and every sledders garage should have one.

2007123172439568_3287.jpg

I am guessing when he said use your fingers he was referring to the slides pulling at the same time. You can check that with your fingers. Get 2 timed and the the third in relation to the first 2. I just stick my fingers in 2 carb throats and pull the throttle. You want them to pull at the same time. You adjust the pull at the top of the carb at the cable. Do the third when you get the first 2 to pull at the same time.

I normally
-make sure the slides are going up all of the way in the carb.
-adjust the throttle slide to all pulling at the same time
-use the uni-sync tool to do the actual final adjustment of the idle screws for proper sync-ing.
Done...

Attachments

·
Registered
1,356 Posts