Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK...I am a little new to this amazingly addictive sport, but I would like to know what the big thing is with the MX style helmets. I bought a GMax modular with a heated faceshield last year and I absolutely love it. I wouldn't give it up for some open style just to freeze my face when I can be toasty warm in my fullface. Help me out here guys/girls.....What am I missing here?

·
Super Moderator
11,679 Posts
They are more 'free'...if you will. I occassionally felt somewhat confined when using my fullface. The MX style is open...which equals less confined. My field of vision seems better with the MX and goggles as well...

·
Registered
1,739 Posts
Also, when it's really sunny out, the brim of the MX style helps block the sun. Just by dipping the helmet a bit, you can ride into the sun and not get totally blinded. I like my MX style when it's warmer, the full face when it's overcast and cold.

·
Registered
348 Posts
I've always worn full face helmets when riding motorcycles so it seemed natural to use one for snowmobiling. Some people complain that they are heavier. They probably are a little but you get used to it. It also keeps the noise level down as well. My son wears a MX style, said it was cooler. He was right, he always complains about his nose being cold. Hurts to be cool!!

·
Registered
2,718 Posts
I just made the big switch back to MX. My issue was most of the same. I like the feeling of being open a little. I had a BRP modular and there was not a lot of bad for it. I actually got a little too warm some times. I bought the snow flap for my goggles and I have had no issues so far as far as a cold nose. If for some reason I ever make it to some where with wide open trails like Tug Hill or Canada where speeds are high for long periods of time I think I may wear my Modular for that. I can see driving 70 for a long period of time and getting a touch cold.

·
Registered