Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys so i went to the local snowmobile dealer and asked them a couple of questions about the clutch set up for Fuji motors because i figured the 400s 440s and 500s would be the same. Anyways i asked what what springs i should use and they didn't know off hand so they looked in the books they had and they said that there books didn't go back that far so that wasn't a big help. Then as i was leaving the guy said even if I wanted to clutch one of these snowmobiles i would tear up the belts like every 20 miles and i said even if i used a harder compound one and changed the weights and he still said ya. is he right and whats a good set up im fairly new to this stuff so go easy.
thanks

·
Registered
148 Posts
I couldn't tell you what springs, weights, and helix you need, but as for not being able to swap these things that couldn't be further from the truth. It just all depends on how aggressive you make it, if you make it to aggressive then yes maybe you will run into problems but to say you can't change anything that guy is a moron.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ssracing said:
I couldn't tell you what springs, weights, and helix you need, but as for not being able to swap these things that couldn't be further from the truth. It just all depends on how aggressive you make it, if you make it to aggressive then yes maybe you will run into problems but to say you can't change anything that guy is a moron.
ya i asked him if i could set up a 1995 xcr 440 for engaging at 5200-5500 and he said that that would blow belts even faster. and by the way the guy was from parts unlimited

·
Registered
368 Posts