Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2010102292554326_34029.jpg
20101022926092_34029.jpg

I am new to the snowmobiling world so I would really appreciate any insight you could give me before making my purchase. I am looking to purchase one of the 2 sleds pictured in this post.

The first is a '97 Indy Ultra 700 6,000 miles(private seller - $900)
It is a 2-stroke with electric start, reverse, studded track, and handwarmers
xtra 12

The 2nd is a '98 Polaris XLT SP 600 - 4700 miles (Dealership - $900)
The only features given to me were the handwarmers
xtra 10

I personally don't care what sled I buy as long as its reliable, comfortable, and fun! I will be doing a lot of trail riding and don't neccesarily need to go 100mph. I don't know enough about snowmobiles yet to see a difference in the two. Assuming they are both in good condition and functional which would you recommend for me? Also, would you rather buy from a private party or a dealer? Do either have a history of issues? Both are asking $900 for the sled!

Thank you very much for your expertise!!!

·
Registered
9,987 Posts
Both sleds will do around 100 mph..

The XLT is a Gen2 chassis, heavy. Has an xtra-10 suspension, better for performance riding. (IE: racing and jumping) The motor in the XLT is a 600 monoblock, which is fairly reliable, but known to have issues with piston skirts breaking requiring engine rebuilds. (usually you can get away with a top end, which takes several hours and can be done for about $500, sometimes stuff gets stuck in the bottom, double the repair price)

The Ultra is a Wedge chassis, not quite as heavy. It has the xtra-12 which is a cruiser suspension. (better for trail cruising and bad backs) The motor, is the modular triple, you can put different jugs on it and make it an 800. (or get big-bore kits and make it a 1000, or 1200, etc) Known to be pretty rock solid as long as you keep the water pump functioning properly.