Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got an 88 exciter L/C. I tore suspension assembly out to replace some parts that were a little worn, anyway, I don't think I did it right. I ended up leaving the track under the sled and pulling the carriage (or whatever it's called)out.
Anyway, it was a pain getting it back in. Everything looks right but I can bottom it out just by pressing down on it with my hand.
So what the heck did I do wrong? How do I fix it or do this right? There's got to be an easier way to replacing the track and suspension.

·
Registered
119 Posts
The suspension on my 93 Exciter SX would unbolt and come out easily (once the track tension was released). But without seeing your work it's hard to say how or what is wrong. I have a shop service manual for the Exciter which may help you. Note: it's for the 93 model.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmmmm....I'm very new to this. I couldn't find out how to disconnect the front drive, whatever you call it. The shaft that has the drive gears one it. The rest is easy to unbolt.
Since I couldn't figure the front shaft out the track was stuck on the sled so I just unbolted the rear two shafts that go through the tunnel and pulled the subassembly out of the track, after I replaced the parts I put it back in just how I found it. I'm thinking that maybe the rear springs have to wrap around one more time but it seems almost impossible to do.
What's the trick to getting the front shaft out?
Maybe I'll remove the whole assembly and go from there.

·
Registered
3,675 Posts
You dont need to remove the drive shaft to work on the rear suspension. It does sound like your springs arent on right.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #5