Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, this oughta open a can of worms, but here goes.
I have a terrible dilemma. I have qualified for financing at my Arctic Cat dealer for a 2004 Firecat F7 EFI SnoPro, and my Polaris dealer for a 2004 ProX2 700. Terrible isn't it.
I have been repairing sleds for 20+ years, rode thousands of miles a year until 6 years ago, then none at all until last year when I put 2000 miles on my 91 RXL only on weekends.This year I have lots of time to sled, so I am getting a new sled. My problem is: I have been repairing sleds, but not riding them, so I am a little outdated on what the new sleds are like according to how riders feel about their sleds.
I am a mechanic who does his own work, will tinker to get last bit of performance out of a sled without major modding (pipes, porting), and I ride fast always, sometimes easy,but usually very aggressive.I love banging ditches, my rides are usually 100-150 mile a day, but I also want to be first at end of field races.I consider myself a Polaris man and have rode Polaris triples since 1989 and the X2 has got race engineering and definite bragging rights around here, but I think Cat has some great ideas in the F7, and I've heard they're very fast and nimble
OK FOLKS. WHICH SLED DO I BUY?

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
buy them both...lol...they are both good sleds, a plus for the F7 is the EFI

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh how I wish I could buy both, but pocketbook wouldn't survive that. I had better only get one at a time, but your advice was great.

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
i am biased towards the polaris now cuz i purchased a 04 X2 600...but b4 this year i was biased towards AC...EFI is good tho except for the mods, gets kinda hard to tune it correctly, and expensive at that....but the firecats are supposedly narrow and feel long, ask pman how he likes his Pro X

·
Registered
3,675 Posts