Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Im new to the sport and have been looking to buy a used sled, looking at polais indys.
Ive found a few that im looking at and hoping i could get some opinions from experienced people.

1995 indy polaris 600 special
8K km
All original parts, always stored indoors
Rip in the seat
Manuel start and no reverse
Hand and thimb warmers
$900

1997 polaris indy 440
14K km
All original parts, except rebuilt clutch
Hand and thimb warmers
$900

1996 polaris indy 500
All original parts, always stored indoors
Craxk in the winshield
Hand and thimb warmers
$1000

Thanks for ur time!

·
Registered
2,655 Posts
I would go with the 500 of those three. Spend a bit more now to get something with less miles and well cared for.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanka man i appreciate the help. I dont have the km on the 500 yet but i guess that would be the biggest deciding factor?

·
Registered
383 Posts
I own a 1998 Polaris Indy 440 - the REAL one. Many people try and pass off Indy XCF 440's as Indy 440's and they are NOT. The Indy 440 is a liquid cooled machine, and in 1997 was purple. It's an incredibly fun sled to ride because it's a little lighter and you can sort of "throw it around" a bit. It has the XTRA-10 suspension (like the '96 500) which is also fairly nice.

With all of that said, the Indy 500 is basically what Polaris built their name on. That Fuji motor is solid, the XTRA-10 suspension is nice, and it's an all-around good machine. You -might- have some decent luck finding a reverse kit for it, but you'll need to know what you're looking for. I was fortunate that a riding buddy had an Evolved chassis reverse kit he wasn't using and I only had to find the lower reverse gear to make it complete.