Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I am looking to buy my first sled. So far I have been riding for a couple of times on a rented sled and I have fallen in love with the sport. Now I am looking to buy my own sled and since my six year old son will almost always ride with me I am thinking of buying a touring sled. Now I know that the touring sled is okay for a trail ride and as I get more experienced I would like to do some mountain riding as well and my question is it possible to do that with a touring sled? If it is not possible I would then definitely buy a mountain riding sled but then the question is would I be able to fit safely myself and a kid on a sled like that? and also is it okay to go with a kid on mountain rides in deep powder. I have a feeling it is not since I have never seen pictures of people doing that. I am new in this so your answers are very appreciated.
Thank you.

·
Registered
848 Posts
I think it would be pretty tough to ride in the mountains with a kid on your sled. And there isn't that much room on a mountain sled seat, especially if you're going to be shifting your weight around. If you kid is going to be riding with you all the time, then a touring makes sense, but it isn't going to be very good in the powder; if he isn't then go with a mountain sled, its going to be a lot more fun.

·
Registered
2,422 Posts
This might be a idea that would work. Get a mountain sled but get one of those enclosed, pull behind sleds, that way when you trail ride, your kid can go with you but you can unhook it and go play in the powder.

·
Registered
4,823 Posts
I think you have a good plan! Get your touring machine. That will be great for the little guy and your wife. A touring/2-up sled will have an extended track, so that will give you some extra flotation for boondocking and powder riding.