Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friends are really new to sledding, I've been doing it for years, but this is my first year with my own sled.
They've been asking me alot lately how much fuel we'll burn. Specificly, how long will the 5 gal in the tank last?
I realize this will vary from machine to machine, so let me list out our stable of machines:

'70 Ski doo Olympic 12/3 (yay 12hp!)
'76 Ski doo TNT 340 f/c
'78 Arctic Cat Eltigre 500cc f/a
'78 Pantera 5000 (hopefully)
I figure the two ski doos will use less gas owing to smaller engines and lighter weight (duh) but I don't have any guess as to how much fuel we'll be talking about over all.

Anybody, anybody, Bueller?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh come one now. I see you guys reading this, how often do you need gas?
I don't care if you've got a newer sled or what. Do you get an hour, two hours, what?
Oh, maybe you thought I wanted like 15mpg... Nah, time is better, my speedo (and consequently the odo) doesn't work anyway.

·
Administrator
13,092 Posts
I can go about 85 miles on a tank. That's a 1998 XCR 440 SP with a 9.5 gallon tank.

That's driving nicely though, if I speed up and slow down a lot, then I get around 75 to 80 miles per tank.

http://www.bolliger-mabillard.com

I Love B&M Coasters.

·
Registered
948 Posts
You'd prolly get about 3-4 hours on the 340cc. Maybe 3 on the 500's depending on how hard you ride. Best guess anyway.

-----------------------------
I think.... therefore I sled
-----------------------------
Two '94 Indy XLT SKS

·
Registered
278 Posts
Riding moderately hard (on trails) I can get 140 miles out of my 800 Cat before the fuel gauge Is at 'E'. On my old 88 El Tigre 529, 90 miles is pushing it. I had a 77 Pantera 5000, 50 to 60 miles was about all I could get. The 90 SkiDoo Formula 463, would go 100 miles. And my Kid's 81 Enticer 250 can go all day on the 3 or 4 gallons it holds.