Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no information or knowledge about gearing, except for what i have learned on here. That said, i have gotten teh general understanding about it, and the performance gains it can give.

I'm asking for those with actual knowledge and info to offer, to help me get a better understanding of the situation.
I'm looking at gearing my SKS 700.

So you drop a gear on the top of the chain case for better low end torque? This is what i would be going for in my sled.
A bigger gear does what? A smaller gear does what? Different for different locations?

2010823113511626_23167.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
1,791 Posts
Its all a ratio...I will try and find you a chart (or if someone else has one to post) that shows the different gears combo that will equal a "ratio number" Closer to 2 is more lowend, better response. Closer to 1 is more your topend, lake crossers looking to do 110 or so.

2010111064158448_19621.jpg

OK so my sled was (i think) a 23/41 ratio that equaled 1.78 and went to a 22/41 = 1.86 so closer to 2, or a 21/39 also equals 1.86. The differnce is the chain pitch. Need to know what the sled is geared at now and where you want to be. I would think being a "mountain sled" it would have a gearing ratio closer to 2 already? Hope this was some help.

·
Registered
4,299 Posts
Google Polaris Gear Chart

Dropping a tooth on top has the same effect but is not equal to adding a tooth on the bottom.
Adding a tooth on the top has the same effect but is not equal to dropping a tooth on the bottom.

Changing teeth on the top gear has a bigger effect because it is a much smaller gear to begin with.

Say you've got 18/41 right now (39/21 = 1.86)

If you want better top end you want that ratio to go down, making your track RPM closer to engine RPM. (maybe use 39/22=1.77)
If you want better acceleration you want the ratio to go up, lower track RPM. (maybe use 39/19=2.05)

·