Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright I picked up my 2008 IQ 600rr and just got back. Compression is 122 psi both cylinders, but it runs fine. I have little to no experience with twins but I'm assuming it should be closer to 145-150? I caan rebuild it for little to no cost durig my co-op. I'm bringing it wilth me tomorrow morning and I'll post some pictures of it then. Honestly, I'm kinda glad I'm going to rebuild it, gives me some peace of mind for the winter.

Now, the guy that owns the shop said if I want we can port it and shave the cylinder heads. I kind of want to ride the sled the way it is just for this year but I also will never be able to do that work for so cheap anythime soon, so I'll decide after I read through some of the pros and cons. Ie, How much hp? How much reliablility will I loose with each?

Annd lastly, How does shaviong the heads work? I know about porting but not chaving the heads. Is it exactly as it sounds and gives you a little more hp?

Just realised I didn't test WOT, but it still shouldn't make it change that much should it?

·
Registered
2,786 Posts
122 isn't bad at all for a 600. If it was an 800 motor, or had its high comp. heads in then I would be worries.

Cons: Every little mod takes away reliability.

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Okay because the reason I ask is the renegade there had 148 psi and I thought most twins were supposed to be up there...

·
Registered
453 Posts
correct!! the psi seems great for a 600. and when you port and polish your heads you should stick to premium gas if not race gas, thats just what i've heard. feel free to correct me if wrong and i also agree with what dragon700 said, every motor mod you do is just one more thing that isnt how its supposed to be and therfore causes unreliable toys!! if i were you i would just hone the cylinders and put a set of spi pistons in it and youll be golden. JMO

·
Registered