Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
1,039 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i started rippin apart the bike i bought this winter(rml85), i knew the motor was toast when i bought it, but i wasnt sure what it was. now that snowmobilingi s over and ive had some time to wrench on the bike i think its a little worse then i anticipated. i took some pics for you to look at and tell me what you think, sorry about the quality, but if you squint your eyes, and turn your head you can... the cylinder is scored right over the exhaust valves, with one gouge thats

deeper then the rest. there was also a bit of scoring on the intake side as well(maybe 3/8" wide). what do you think caused this? what do you guys think needs to be done to fix it?

to me it it looks like ill obviously need new piston and rings, and either the cylinder bored/honed, or re sleeved. i dont know for sure, because im new to all this, but i think these suzuki motors just need to be resleeved if you cant hone it out? there it one gouge that's noticeably deeper then the rest of the scoring. what do i need to do?

Auto part Rim Wheel

Auto part Bearing Ball bearing

Auto part Wheel Automotive wheel system Automotive tire Rim

· Registered
860 Posts
theyre may be some people on here able to help, but i would check out www.dirtbikefanatics.com they have some knowledgable people when it comes to durtbikes, check it out!

· Registered
455 Posts
Is it a 2-stroke or a 4-stroke, because it looks like a 2-stroke but you said something about an exhaust valve, unless you mean the exhaust port. But you will probably need new rings, maybe a new piston, and I would have the cylinder either re-sleeved or bored. Since you have it apart I would check everything else to make sure nothing else is too worn.

· Registered
4,283 Posts