Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow sleders...

My wife and I have been lucky enough to have put on about 120 miles this weekend riding the trails. (Mid-Ontario).

Since this is our first year I'm still a little new with maintainance.

We own a 97 LE and a 98 SLE Skidoo. I greased both machines a few months ago when I changed the plugs. I was wondering at what interval greasing should be done? As well how many miles do you put on plugs before you change them?

Any other info is welcome on seasonal maintainance.

Thanks in advance!

Rob.

·
Registered
3,063 Posts
you can't overgrease...sure it may get messy but thats a small price to pay. After non "play" ride (50 miles or more) I like to do just a pump or two on all the grease fittings and spray the ball joints with oil. That way eeverything stays moving freely and doesn't wear out nearly as fast

·
Registered
412 Posts
Hi Rob; welcome to the sport!

The big thing I find about greasing the suspension is to force all the water out of the shafts that accumulates from riding. You'll see it coming out the ends of the shafts. I don't get that many miles on a season and probably grease mine twice a season, and then at the end of the season. This is probably the most important time that gets missed because your sled is going to sit all spring, summer and fall. If you don't grease at the end of the season (like I didn't last spring[:I]) you'll end up with a frozen suspension (like I did[:0]) and have to take it apart to free it up (like I did[V]). Learn from our mistakes![:D]

I usually only go through one set of plugs a season. I leave the old ones in for initial start up to burn off all the extra oil from fogging, then put in nice new ones and am set for the season. Just make sure you are always carrying a set of spares "just in case".

Jacqui.

·
Registered
614 Posts