Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the game. ZERO experience, nothing, ZIP.
I just got my sled new from the dealership. My first start and run was short because the engine would die every time I came to a stop. Then, when I would pull, to start, the sled would move forward. I was able to start it on the roll and get it back home. I called the dealer who told me to check the belt and tell him what was happening. The belt was tight... so every time I pulled, to start, it was engaged. He told me to loosen the belt by widening or opening the rear clutch so I would be able to start the engine without the sled moving forward. When I did that he suggested that I run it around the block a few times and that the problem should be solved. I did that and the problem was not solved. I also noticed that it was not "gearing" up at all. In my short test run the speed of the sled was always following the RPM so my top speed was never over about maybe 20 MPH. I figure that the expanding clutch system "thing" was not working. Maybe they have the wrong size belt in it? I don't have a clue. Again, this is a brand new sled. The dealer is 3 hours away so taking it back to him to fix is not easy to do. Any suggestions? I'm new here and need some good advice. I'd like to ride it today. I hope I gave you guys enough information. The dealer is closed for the holiday.
Thanks,
JRO
[email protected]
Whistler/Pemberton

·
Registered
3,040 Posts
What are the numbers on the belt.

·
Registered
1,172 Posts