Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey just looking for some help from others with mxz 800. I just purchased one so i am really new with the 800's but i wanted to know that when i first start my sled it idles great but then when i take it for a run and stop it will sit at a higher idle maybe around 3500-4000 rpms and idles up and down slightly! After about a minute it will return to a steady idle and be fine!! If i could get some help to see if that is normal with the 800s or if there is a problem somewhere!! Thanks in advance, Benny

·
Registered
474 Posts
Mine does it too. I usually just flip the choke on/off quick to reduce the idle back down. I am going to try the screws again this year but last year I didn't have any luck with them... either it would run good at first then run like crap or it would run like crap and then run good.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well thats great i will have to try it and see how it works out! Thanks for your advice everyone

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I talked to the skidoo dealer here and they said that is normal for the 800s to do that and told me not to worry about it! I got used to it pretty quickly cause it doesn't last to long!

·
Registered
3,100 Posts
I worked for a dealer for years. Trust me, its not natural. Do what you want but I strongly recomend a leak down test. Better safe than sorry.

·
Registered
474 Posts
I know mine is not anything because I have a brand new motor and leakdown shows nothing. I also just cleaned my carbs too with brand new v-force 3 reeds. Plugs look good and it idles fine... just takes a second for it to idle down. The only reason I use my choke to drop the idle is because sometimes I don't want to wait. It's just a quick flip of it not holding it on.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·