Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a chance to buy a 1995 Polaris XCR 600 triple - the piston on the left (I think the guy meant the PTO side) is seized. I'm not an expert mechanic with these 2-strokes - but I think I could handle replacing the piston/rings/pin/bearing - and possibly getting the cylinder fixed if needed (are these nicasiled or cast)- but my biggest concern - How do I find out in the first place what burned it down ? I know enough to look for oil around the PTO seal, check and clean carb and carb boot for holes, also chech float level to spec - but that seems like russian rollet when I then run it - how can I be sure when looking at the damage to know what caused it.

G

·
You said check for oil around the PTO. Sounds like you are on the right track. The problem is that when the PTO seal leaks, it leaks air in, and not so much as oil out. Air leaking in will cause a lean run on that cylinder. The thing that takes out the PTO seal are Heat from a miss aligned belt or a bad bearing. The other big thing is belt strings. As the belt comes apart the shredded strings end up around the PTO sometimes and get into the seal. My ski-doo repair manual has a very detailed description of what caused a piston to seize. Maybe your dealer could make a copy of his manual for you to read.

D

·
Super Moderator
11,279 Posts
My 95 xcr did the same Last yr, my left "chaincase" side piston got scored after I went through a bunch of powder and sucked it through the air box and into the cyl and the steam cracked the piston..I had all 3 cyl rebuilt and had it bored for $350. So it could of either been jetting/ plugged jet or some other freak cause..? How do they want for the sled?? They aren't worth to much so make sure you are getting a deal on it.. You can get ones like mine for $1500 around here..

·
Super Moderator
11,279 Posts