Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to stud the track on my '93 Arctic Cat EXT Z. How long of a stud should I run, we do ditch running, and then running down creeks etc... so it sees every type of surface. Do I need to worry about damaging the heat exchangers with say a 1 inch stud? How many studs should I go with on this sled the engine is a 580, and what is the typical procedure to doing this? I'm kinda new to this, so I would like to get some opinions before I start.

·
Registered
3,675 Posts
Do you know how long the lugs on the track are? Rule of thumb is quarter inch longer stud. I am not positive where you heat exchangers run on that sled but if the run under the tunnel you may want to get protection for them. I would run 144 studs.

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
i wouldnt run 144 studs for a 580 for his type of riding, maybe 96 or so, most 600s only run bout 96 studs for agressive riding, probably not less than 96 or u have a good chance of pulling a stud with the 580

·
Registered
3,675 Posts
He rides ditches and on rivers where there is potential for a lot of ice, i was going to say 96-144. I pulled a bunch through on my XLT this year and i had 96. I am going to 144 this year.

·
Registered
528 Posts
I would say 144 or more.

How to stud:
http://www.sabertraction.com/usa_cat4.htm

Stud chart:
http://www.sabertraction.com/usa_cat11.htm

·
Registered
5,686 Posts
Actually you have less of a chance of pulling out studs with a higher number installed. With more studs, you have less of stess factor per stud.
I would go with 144.

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
Originally posted by ACEXLT
[br]Actually you have less of a chance of pulling out studs with a higher number installed. With more studs, you have less of stess factor per stud.
I would go with 144.
which is what i said....just the opposite way u did, "with less than 96 u have a better chance of pulling a stud"

·
Registered
4,983 Posts