Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to snowmobiling, and have a 98 Polaris XC 700. I'm not familiar with jetting, so could someone elaborate to me please on how it works, how I have to change the jets I guess, and what whould cause me to change them. As, I'm fairly new to this, what else should I do to the carbs to make the engine maximize all its potential?

·
Registered
85 Posts
just so you know, rejetting can be a risky game to play!! and expensive I.E.(a melt down)
rule of thumb:
the leaner (smaller size jet) you can run, the better (more responsive) it will run....the draw backs, temperature...too cold and a melt down, at higher elevations, the air is thinner so you can jet down fairly safely...as the temps warm up , you can jet down as rule...
the fuel is mixed with air through the jet..as the temp, elevation, atmospheric pressure change, so does the way the fuel/air mix goes through your carbs.
so be careful, do plug checks, but,......
be prepared for the worst, unless your a serious hard driver, stock is probably a good all around happy medium!!
ride on, ride safe!

·
Registered
227 Posts
If you don't know what you are doing with jetting don't touch them. just my $.02

·
Registered
24 Posts
my opinion is if you want to go faster buy a bigger sled.
I run the same jets all the time
when I'm outside the temp range of the jet I'm running I try not stay at the same speed for too long, crack it wide open for a few seconds
to clean it out

·
Registered
8,108 Posts
I agree 100% with the above. Don't touch them unless your previous owner messed with them, which means they may be set too lean.

-Dean

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so are the jets something that I have to physically change when I get a new pipe and can? how do I read plugs to tell if its too lean or too rich a mixture?

·
Registered
3,063 Posts