Snowmobile Fanatics banner

LED LIGHTS ON A SLED

75K views 46 replies 28 participants last post by  stevem5215 
#1 ·
LEDs on a sled they look great but a few things you need to know before doing. I've been installing lights on sleds and many other things for about 11 years. Now when installing lights on a sled if possible install a battery when doing so if you don't have a battery on the sled a sport bike battery is small and will fit many places. Tieing into the power suply of a sled can cause a fire! And on the newwer sleds can fry the brain not a cheap fix. LEDS are great they use no power and they are bright! When you install them on the running boards or up in the tunnel heres a tip take som siocone and run a bead aroun the lights this helps keep any moisture from getting to the 3m tape and they will stay on for a long time. And for you powder riders just about any led will work because powder is not that hard on them but for the Michigan riders like me powder can be hard to find and the trails throw some rocks and icy snow get some well made lights. any questions just ask i would love to answer any questions that will make you install easier for you. I do have some pics of battery installs I've done to give you some ideal what I'm taliking about. Thanks LED-DOCTOR I'm not a Doctor but I will take a look!

#3 ·
88400 said:
I must ask, at 12v drawing extremely little to no amperage how could LEDs cause a fire? They don't even get hot themselves?