Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I lieu of trying something different... Me and a couple people I ride with decided we are going to take our big trip the first of Febuary. Instead of starting in the U.P., this year we have decided to start on the WI side and make are way into the UP. I have never done this before, so I'm looking for suggestions on places to go or stop... Also, since I'm starting in WI, I'm guessing I will have to get a trail permit. Whats the cost? B/C in MI it is cheap. Also, are there any places that rent newer longer tracked sleds... This will help me decide if I'm going to trailer or not. Some of the people we meet up with are from Missouri and will be renting regardless.

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
WI trail pass for 2010-11 is $35. Isn't that the price MI charged last year for non residents.

Hopefully, someone has information for you. I want to ride from the Mountain/Townsend area up to Iron River MI and then take a day or two from there.

If you get into Iron River and like pizza, stop at the Riverside bar. There is sled parking at the top of the hill and the walk is short. Or, I think the trail goes by their parking lot across the street.

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
picman said:
WI trail pass for 2010-11 is $35. Isn't that the price MI charged last year for non residents.

Hopefully, someone has information for you. I want to ride from the Mountain/Townsend area up to Iron River MI and then take a day or two from there.

If you get into Iron River and like pizza, stop at the Riverside bar. There is sled parking at the top of the hill and the walk is short. Or, I think the trail goes by their parking lot across the street.
My cabin is in the Townsend area right by the Townsend flowage dam. We do a ride from Townsend to pickerel, over to crandon and then up to three lakes, then down to dunbar and athlestien and finally ending at henneseys.

·
Registered
110 Posts