Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my summer ride.

I've been riding a '93 XR250L for 4 years... but I'm 6'1", 250 lbs, that was a little on the small side!

A few months ago I bought this '01 KLR 650. I sat on it once last summer, haven't seen it since then, hope I like it!

Any other dual-sport riders out there?

/polarisman/../images/users/north of 55/Bike Overview sm.jpg

·
Registered
103 Posts
Here's my dual sport:

/snofan/../images/users/Mike_XLT/XR01.jpg
'02 XR650L
-Uni filter / IMS smog block off kit / Snorkel removed / B.D. jet kit (162/55) / FMF "Q" Exhaust
(click the link in my signature for more pics)

By the way... What made you stray away from the XR line???
-Mike

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Why Leave the XR Line?

Well... Where I live there are very few places to go off-roading. You actually can't go very far in any direction without hitting water or muskeg. Pretty rough... I live in the middle of nowhere and there's noplace to go off-roading! It's an 8 hour drive due-south to Winnipeg Manitoba!

I really liked my XR (although I was much to big for it), but I want somehting that's a little more "streetable" without getting out of the dual-sport style.

An XR650L would have cost me more than twice what I paid for my KLR. Then I would have been buying a bigger fuel tank, changing the seat, tires... the XR is just not a bike I can see myself riding for 6-8 hours a day!

With it's 6.1 US Gal tank, wide seat and liquid cooled engine the KLR should be a lot happier on long highway rides.

Best of all, I picked it up for a great price, and I knew the owner well. I know it's been well taken care of!

If the XRL had the liquid cooled engine from the XRR, I'd be tempted to give it a try!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Oh Yeah... about that CR450F!

We can't (legally) convert a dirt-bike into a Dual-Sport in Canada.