Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright Im brand new to snowmobiles but I just moved to Colorado and I really want to get into the sport but I dont know to much about what to start with. If you guys could give me some info on a sled thats pretty fast for all aroud riding your help would be much apprieciated.

Thanx

·
Registered
2,307 Posts
Well being in CO, I'd assume you'd want some sort of Mt. sled, because of all the deep snow out there.

Polaris: RMK
SkiDoo: Summit
Arctic Cat: Powder Special, or Mountain Cat (I forget)
Yamaha: Mountain Max

I really don't have any experience with these sleds, becaues I don't ride in those conditions. But there are those here that do. You might want to check out the Mountain riding secition of this forum as well, and welcome!

1997 XLT SP 600
"Engage the Mechanism"

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanx for the help.

But also in the summer time I head to Oregon. And I was wondering if a Mt. Sled would hold up on the dunes?

Any help is aprieciated

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
When Tfin mentioned an Mt. sled, he was speaking of a mountain sled, those are set up for deep snow, generaly lighter, narrower and with a very aggressive deep lug paddle track. Please explain "dunes", is that as in sand?
If so the term is SNOWmobile, though some watercrossers and grassdraggers here will disagree with me, this is a winter sport.
As far as fast, anything liquid cooled is going to be very quick, generally large engines cost more to buy and feed, but if you got the $ go for the larger twins, especially for mountain riding.
Cheers.

Ride to ride again.

·
Registered
2,584 Posts