Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am new to the Snowmobile game all together here, but I am vary experienced in the small engine department, and vary skilled with the hands.

Enough about me, I have a 1974 Polaris Colt I found in my back lane, was originally going to scrap it, before I realized it was a whole sled minus a ski. With a shot of quick start in each cylinder is ran for a couple seconds.

I have already removed both carbs and rebuilt them. Next the tank will be removed and cleaned. After that I have to figure out the fuel lines. I know the lowest nipple is for sediment, 6 in tube with plug. I have all the pieces ( a couple Ts ), but no clue how to run the lines, as far as I can guess it would go as follows...........

Tank to filter...... filter to Primer bulb T........... primer T to Fuel line splitter....... A line to the second lowest nipple on the carb.

Primer T to Primer bulb........ Primer bulb to splitter........ splitter to upper nipple on the carb.

My next issue is it did not have a air box, I know on a snowblower there is no air box or filter, is this the same on a sled?

Throttle cable messed up but I can figure that out. Goals to get it running so I can test the clutch and drive train.
then brakes and find a ski. once shes running, she will be getting a refurbishing. The covers in great shape so just needs a wash and paint.

Thanks in advance for all advice and help!

·
Super Moderator
24 Posts