Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to buy a sled that can handle the terrain of the Sierra-Nevadas. I'll probably be riding in elevations ranging from 6000' to 8000' and the snow is usually deep powder. I'm also concerned about future emission restrictions around the area I live. I've heard rumors that 2-strokes may be banned in certain US Forest Land areas, so naturally I'm interested in the new 4-stroke technology. I'm a novice, but I have lot of dirt bike experience -- big whoop! [:D] Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

I'd also be very interested in hearing from anyone that rides around the Lake Tahoe area.

[:)]

·
Registered
3,040 Posts
There ain't to much choice for 4-strokes, Yamaha has the regular and mountain RX1, it has the R1 motor in it, and Arctic Cat is suposed to has a mid season production of the F9, it will have the 100 GSXR Suzuki motor in it, and they have a 4-stroke trail machine, but it only has something like 53 HP, I would wait for the cat and see how good it is, compare the RX1, to the F9, I wouldn't reccomend the 4-stroke trail, to heavy, with not enought HP. I think I would go with the Arctic Cat Unless it has major problems, and it will probably be lighter in weight.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply ZRT 600. I'm not anti 2-stroke, I simply have concerns about emission problems in the future. I don't want to buy a machine and then not have any where to ride it. I was hoping that someone might have some info about this as well.

I would like to hear any 2-stroke recommendations too. [:)]

·
Registered
1,794 Posts