Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!

Well came across this site and thought I would join up.

I'm new to sleding...having only done it once last year..but my wife and I just purchased 2 used sleds:

1) 98 Ski-doo SLE 500 cc
2) 97 Ski-doo LE 440cc

I figured they where big enough for us to start with.

My question is about chaning the oil.....is this something I can do myself?

Thanks
Rob

·
Registered
11,943 Posts
Actually, you don't change oil on most snowmobiles. If they are 2-stroke, the oil burns up in the engine. You have to remember to add oil though, if it runs out, your engine burns down. So, 4-stroke means change oil, 2-stroke = oil burns up, remember to add oil.

It is always wise to check the oil every time you fill up the sled with a tank of gas. Make sure you always have enough for the trip you are taking.

Vote for Snowmobile Fanatics.com

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info....

Both sleds are oil injected so I guess I'm ok....

I just read about dip sticks and oil filings etc....

Just want to be safe.

Thx

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
If yer talk'in dipsticks and iron filings then that's your chaincase oil, and yes change it if you are not sure when it was last.
Look under your sled beneth where the chaincase is, there might be a drain plug,(this info I found here, TUSF is great).
Do a search here for chaincase oil, there are a few good discussions on whether to use synthetic or regular, and what types ppl use.

Good luck, welcome to the forum, and the sport.

It's a lifelong journey...why hibernate?

When hell freezes over, we'll ride there too.

·
Registered
777 Posts
Welcome,get a couple a hundred miles under your belt,And you to will be surfing all the sled sites 2-3 hours a day.,It,s very addicting.Have fun.where abouts in canada

·
Registered
1,099 Posts