Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well,

I think it's time for me to move on, and get something a little newer.. well alot newer.. I'm sick of chaging the jetting every time the temp. changes, stuff breaking daily etc.. I think it's time to retire my sled.. I don't think i'll sell it.. just relieve it from daily duty..

Ok, So i'm looking at getting a newer sled (polaris).. I know alot of you have newer polaris's so I'm looking for your opinions/advice. I don't really know what I'm looking for.. I've been riding the same sled for over 5 years ('89 650 w/ x-tra 10). Twin, Triple, Aggressive, Gen II, Edge.. So many choices I don't know where to start.. again I'm not trying to start a twin vs. triple, or a brand bashing thread everyone is entitled to thier own opinions here... I know you guys have 'em.. I want to hear 'em all.. I ride mostly trails/lakes and rack on the miles pretty quick.. I've had the chance to ride some newer stuff.. but not really long enough to get a really good feel for anything..

I'm in the market for something used.. after buying a brand new truck and taking a bath on that.. I don't think i'll ever buy anything brand new again..

Regards,
650indy

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
So are you thinking Gen 2/Extra 10 or full on Edge.
If you pickup a Gen 2 '99 or 2000 you can save some money,
but the ride on the Edge is spozda be awesome (I personally prefer the looks of the Gen 2).
Since you ride on lakes as you said I will not fight the pack here
and suggest a 500, I see a 6 or 700 in your future.
You can pick up a '99 700 XC pretty cheap these days,
have seen some around here for $4500.00 to $5500.00.
Are you looking at any other brands at all?
I would imagine there are a few Vipers around that got traded for RX-1's,
and MXZ's that got traded for Rev's.
Watch that buying used thing, I bought my '99 500 XC off a guy who bought