Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
k so i bought a 1999 600 xc sp im new to sleding i have a quad already.
i have a couple of questions about my sled like...

> i have a exhaust leak on my u pipe caused by the can by pounding at the top its a big hole like 1 inch long and 4 to 5 cm wide... its robbing power???

> and when i turn my clutch it seem to only compress one time its a twin so isn't it suppose to do it twice?

> do i change the motor oil or does the two stroke oil reservoir feed oil to the motor?

· Registered
2,432 Posts
imcrazed said:
> do i change the motor oil or does the two stroke oil reservoir feed oil to the motor?
First off.....Welcome to the site and our awesome sport of snowmobiling. Your sled is a 2 stroke. Just add gas and keep your oil tank full above can. You never need to change the oil.

· Registered
222 Posts
ya if you put some pics up its easier to help out. people demand pics on this site haha

· Registered
35 Posts
Your motor compresses at each stoke. It only does it one at a time. When you turn it over, one cylinder will compress then as you turn it again the other will compress.

A hole that big in the pipe will definitely cause a power lose and could potentially burn down the motor. Get it fixed or buy a new pipe.

· Registered
2,381 Posts
imcrazed said:
k so i bought a 1999 600 xc sp im new to sleding i have a quad already.
i have a couple of questions about my sled like...

> i have a exhaust leak on my [highlight=yellow]u pipe [/highlight=yellow]caused by the can by pounding at the top its a big hole like 1 inch long and 4 to 5 cm wide... its robbing power???

> and when i turn my clutch it seem to only compress one time its a twin so isn't it suppose to do it twice?

It's a Y-pipe, not a u pipe, and yes, you should fix that because you're loosing back pressure.