Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so dont laugh at me about this ... I am new to this snowmobiling thing. How do you drive a sled? Is there anything special that you need to know? How about gas? Can you get gas at the gas station from the pump or do you have to mix oil and gas together? Please let me know.

Thanks,
Puddleduck[blue]Ok so dont laugh at me about this ... I am new to this snowmobiling thing. How do you drive a sled? Is there anything special that you need to know? How about gas. Can you get gas at the gas station from the pump or do you have to mix oil and gas together? Please let me know. [/blue]

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
well....how to drive, have u ever drove a 4wheeler or jetski? it is similar to that, right had thumb squeezes the gas on a sled and left hand fingers squeeze the brake. it will seem weird at first cuz u need to rev the engine up to what will seem high RPM's to get it to move, then just drive it like a car, let off the gas to slwo down, new sleds (except for the raceing polaris) use regular gas, but have injector oil you will need to fill up in a separate tank quite a bit, unlike a car. never let this oil run out. on older machines, u need to mix the gas and oil.

Ready to Ride...NEED SNOW!!!!!!...if you have snow, i hate you...

·
Administrator
13,092 Posts
Cat guy got it about right.

To get the machine to go all you basically do is squeeze the throttle.

Snowmobiles are a lot faster and more responsive than ATV's though.

http://www.bolliger-mabillard.com

I love B&M Coasters!

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
a reverse transmission is optional on some sleds, most dont have it tho. You will find almost no use for reverse unless u back outa a pickup box or outa a garage. There is no park, u just jump on, start it up (let it warm up), hit the gas and go.

You must really be new, where ya from?