Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you are out riding in the middle of a forest somewhere and you break your drive belt...What does installing the replacemnet belt consist of doing and how long does it take? Tools? sorry if this question is dumb, like I said i'm a newbie

·
Registered
3,675 Posts
Generally, NO tools needed. If the belt blows you'll spend more time cleaning shrapnel, than putting the new belt on. Putting the belt on takes 30 seconds once you know how to split open the secondary clutch. Slide the belt on the primary clutch(Front Clutch) Rotate the rear sheave of the secondary clutch (Rear Clutch) toward the back of the sled and push toward the engine. The clutch will open, slide the belt on and work it around the clutch. Let go of everything and your done. I'd recommend doing it a few times in your garage before your out in the cold trying to figure it out.

That being said, if you happen to have a TEAM Secondary clutch, use the tool that comes with it to split the secondary open.

·
Registered
155 Posts
You should be able to find that in your owners manual. If you don't have one you really should order one.

There should be no tools used. I can change my belt out in about 2 minutes.

It's hard to discribe how to do it. It's easier to actually see how it is done.

If you have a belt on now. Just go outside to your sled and grab it near the top next to the clutch and pull up hard on the belt. The belt should pry it's self up between the clutch when you lift. That will give you extra slack to pull the belt off and around the clutch. Then take it off the other clutch on the opposite side.

You should have you belt in your hand. Then just do it in reverse order.

You can always go to your sled shop and tell them you don't know. I'm sure they will show you. Everyone has to learn sooner or later.

·
Registered
615 Posts
depends on the type of sled too if you dont need tools.