Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, Im new to all things with sleds. Could someone please tell me how the drivetrain works? What makes the track spin and stay put on the sliders? I may be pickin up a friends sled for free ( Bonus! ) but its in pieces. Thanx!

·
Registered
4,617 Posts
Welcome to The ULTIMATE Snowmobile Forum and to snowmobiling in general.

The basic breakdown of the drive train is that there is a clutch on the crankshaft of the engine called the primary clutch (or drive clutch). There is another clutch on the jackshaft (secondary clutch or driven clutch). There is a drive belt linking the two and as you speed up the engine the primary clutch squeezes together and pushes on the belt spinning the drive and driven clutches. The driven clutch spins the jackshaft which is connected to a chaincase that has gears and a chain in it. The top gear is on the jackshaft and the bottom gear is on the driveshaft that drives the drivers of the track, restulting in a spinning track.

This is basically how it works and if anyone wants to fix anything that I may have not said to clearly go ahead but this is basically how it works

G

·
0 Posts
What makes your track spin?

LOL Squeeze the little lever under your thumb!!!!

Welcome to the club!!!

Dennis

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, cut me some slack![:)] I have no track for project "No-Name-Beat-Ass-Sled" and was wondering if a track has groves or teeth down the middle, Or do large rubber wheels drive the track. I also had a crazy winter idea. Thanx, Max

·
Registered
4,617 Posts
The track is driven by drivers that hook up to knobs on the back of the track like what is shown in the picture.

/polarisman/../images/users/Bigwilly/hifax.jpg

·
Registered
331 Posts
Originally posted by MadMax