Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys... I am Matt, and new to this forum. I am also new to sledding, as I started last winter. I just bought a 81 JAG from a friend, and was wondering if anybody had any technical info on it? It's an 81 Jag 4000 440. Thanx a bunch,
Matt

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, thanks anyways Rich.

·
Registered
4,322 Posts
all the tech info you need as well as a complete parts breakdown of your sled
http://www.brownsleisureworld.com/Parts/SNOWMOBILE/1981/1981JAG(0250-488-1981)/
just copy the adress and paste it into the browser

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
well I was able to find parts, but no tech-info.

·
Registered
170 Posts
hi Matt! no info but welcome to the forum also:D

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanx, Dooer!

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
Welcome Jag.

What tech info are you looking for that isn't at Browns Lesuire?

I have an '81 Trailcat 440 that I restored last summer that is very similar, and I know that sled inside and out, maybe I can help.

Here it is....
/snofan/../images/users/500fasEnuf/3.jpg

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well, I didnt actualy buy the sled yet, but prolly this week. I was wonderin how much HP this sled has. Is it a pretty quick sled?

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
Original post says "I just bought...".....WTH.

Anyways, it depends on what you call quick.

Mine is light and will go 50 - 55 mph on the trail. I will not keep up with newer 440 fans like the Indy Trail 488. Without independant front suspension it will handle like a canoe on gravel compared to what's now available.

HP is in the 60 neighbourhood I think, somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

If you ride with guys on 6,7,& 800's you will never stay with them. But if it's your first sled and just want something to bomb around in the ditches, it will be lots of fun, so go to it.

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #12