Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to snowmobiles. I just got a 2004 Polaris 600 Edge Touring with about 4600 miles on it. Every time I rode lately, when I started from a stop, I heard this popping noise from the clutch side. Today, it felt like I had no power, and I smelled the belt burning a bit. I think it is slipping on the primary side. Need some help on what the problem may be. I know from my manual that I have the P-85 primary and TEAM secondary clutch. Any ideas would be helpful! Thanks!

·
Registered
2,571 Posts
What condition is the belt in? Maybe start with a good cleaning of both clutches using just some soap and water. Dry them real good and buy a new belt. The new belt should sit about 1/8" above the secondary sheaves....adjusted by the locknut and bolt on the secondary clutch. Other than that, the clutches may need professional attention if you have never tinkered with them.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What condition is the belt in? Maybe start with a good cleaning of both clutches using just some soap and water. Dry them real good and buy a new belt. The new belt should sit about 1/8" above the secondary sheaves....adjusted by the locknut and bolt on the secondary clutch. Other than that, the clutches may need professional attention if you have never tinkered with them.
The belt appears to be pretty new, but I can try cleaning them and then put on my spare belt.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also I forgot to mention, when I rode it yesterday, the sled felt jerky and didn't want to pick up speed. Any thoughts on what might cause that?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6